Skip to content

Portraits for Thailand

Thursday, February 4, 2010

I had a brainstorm.

First of all, a team of young adults from my church, Northview, including myself, are planning a missions trip to Thailand this May! We’ll be working with YWAM Thailand in several capacities; helping in local elementary schools as teaching assistants, civic ministry like gardening, painting, building, etc, and sharing the gospel of Jesus with the Thai people. One aspect drawing me to this trip is the chance to engage with the bar girls. The girls who have been trafficked into sex slavery. The sex trade is such a huge epidemic in Thailand; millions travel from around the world for this one purpose. Even young children are exploited in this way. If we can give them just a little hope…let them know that someone loves them…I feel inadequate just writing these words. But Jesus says “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Now for the brainstorm. We need to raise money for the trip expenses and projects we will be involved in once in Thailand. Each of us needs to come up with $2500, which brings me to my idea to offer reduced portrait sessions for a mere $50–this includes a 1-2 hour shoot at the location of your choice, and a disc of edited, high resolution photos–and ALL the money will go to Thailand! Donations above the $50 are encouraged, and for this you will receive a tax receipt. So…did you just get engaged?! have a baby?! want some professional photos just for the fun of it?! If so, please shoot me an email! I will be taking bookings from now until the end of April. It would be hugely appreciated…I would love to hear from you :)

mikaelaruthphoto@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

