Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite [Vintage] Things

Friday, February 19, 2010

It started many years ago, on a family road trip to Minnesota/Manitoba. The thrill of hunting through antique shops and thrift stores for treasures such as these… (it would be a race between me, my mom and sister, to get the good stuff)

“time is all I own, and time won’t stop replaying over in my mind” – joshua radin

The most recent find – a typewriter. I’m sad it doesn’t actually work, but it’s still pretty to look at.

Both of these came from that trip to Minnesota

One day I will have a gigantic library in my house. Because one day, my collection of books will grow to be that size.

I admit, I have yet to do more than just skim the pages of these worn books…but I have every intention of doing so! I promise. The next book on my ‘to read’  list is A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, by Betty Smith. Picked up the 1944 copy seen here at MCC.

We’ll leave off with something different – and almost worthy of being called vintage itself – FILM. My parents’ film SLR was collecting dust so I thought I’d try it out…and I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome in the next few photos. It certainly gave them a different look…I really like the feel of them.

“and the sun would glint on a time well spent” – david gray

6 Comments leave one →
  1. kelsey loewen. permalink
    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 11:15 am

    very jealous of your film shots! What kind of film camera are you using? They look fabulous!

    • Wednesday, March 3, 2010 7:02 pm

      thank you! It’s a Nikon f50. and you have nothing to be jealous of!

  2. Danelle Erickson permalink
    Tuesday, February 23, 2010 7:32 am

    Is that great-grandma Walters’ camera I see?!? Love the pictures! I think you should plan another trip for some great Minnesota antiquing :)
    (And I am completely with you on the wish for a huge library.)

    • Wednesday, February 24, 2010 8:45 am

      It is her camera that you see! My mom couldn’t believe your mom would give it to me…but that confirms it, I guess! I would LOVE to road trip it back to Minnesota. Hopefully one day soon!

  3. Saturday, February 20, 2010 9:34 am

    Thanks! And yes, I agree :)

  4. Risa permalink
    Saturday, February 20, 2010 8:28 am

    Love the new photos! I think it’s time we go hunting again!

Leave a Reply

