Skip to content

Catching the Fever

Thursday, February 25, 2010

I thought it was something I had to do. Living in such close proximity to Vancouver, being thisclose to the Olympics, I figured I had to make the trip downtown just to say I did it. I figured the overwhelming crowds of people in the streets would irritate me and the long day tire me out. BUT. But. We had SO much fun! The crowds’ excitement was catching (ok, so things got a little tense in the skytrain on the way in when you couldn’t even stand up straight for lack of personal space…whatever) and the day wasn’t nearly long enough to soak up all that the city had to offer.   

This guy caught me trying to take a picture of him…apparently I wasn’t allowed to without getting a hug so he scooped me up and Aimee grabbed the camera!

Look at that Olympic spirit

Olympic night life…

To honor my half-American roots (so don’t hate!) I said, “next American we see with a flag, I want a picture with them!”  Then through the crowd appeared a whole group of them…and were met by an onslaught of very proud Canadians…

But since Canadians are “so nice”, they came through unscathed and I got my picture(s) :)
And yes, they were really nice, too!

I’ll leave off with this impromptu dance party in the pizza place. What a day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    Friday, February 26, 2010 3:47 pm

    Hey,

    Some of those pictures are so great, can I post them on FB? Not sure how that works with you owning them and all that.

    Love them

    • Friday, February 26, 2010 6:27 pm

      Thanks! Hey, go for it. My name is on them, anyways :) Thanks for being the subject of some of them…even if Alec thinks he/you are goofy looking! (shakes head)

  2. Thursday, February 25, 2010 6:43 pm

    Thank YOU. haha you really think so? I was thinking I’d blow one up and zoom in ;)

    • Alec permalink
      Friday, February 26, 2010 12:52 am

      Ha! Just don’t zoom in on the tall goofy one with the dark scruffy beard. He will scare away any potential fans of your work :)

  3. Alec permalink
    Thursday, February 25, 2010 5:37 pm

    Excellent! I think you completely captured the excitement of the day. These are great. Course there’s no need to put up more pictures of the Americans as Risa suggests, i mean who wants to look at funny looking Americans anyways? :)

    Thanks again!

  4. Thursday, February 25, 2010 3:35 pm

    Thanks! And just click on any picture to make it bigger if you want!

  5. Risa permalink
    Thursday, February 25, 2010 3:19 pm

    LOVE this post! You captured the excitment and patriotism, from both sides of the border. I think you should post a bigger, single picture of you with the Americans, though…it’s hard to see faces. Pick your favorite, and put it up! : )

Leave a Reply

