Skip to content

Thursday’s Thoughts

Thursday, February 25, 2010

I wasn’t sure that I would make this a weekly thing. But, thinking over what the past week has brought about, I can’t not write about it. Last week I was having one of “those” weeks and couldn’t see my way out very well. Come to think of it, when talking to a close girlfriend of mine last Friday, she said how our world can become so much smaller when we’re going through something. I didn’t really want to hear it then, but now I see she was right. Because now, I’ve gained a little perspective.

“You can call it God or a conscience, or you can dismiss it as that intuitive knowing we all have as human beings, as living storytellers; but there is a knowing I feel that guides me toward better stories, toward being a better character. I believe there is a writer outside ourselves, plotting a better story for us, interacting with us, even, and whispering a better story into our consciousness.”

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller. Read it. I’m barely halfway through but it only took me a few pages before I was completely drawn in. It’s smart, and funny and it’s an easy read. And it’s got me thinking. For one thing, am I living a story that’s worth telling? That’s the question the author has been faced with. What also plays into this and into my thinking, is the sovereignty of God. After all, he is the real author here.

One thing I’ve learned this week? I love commuting. I’m used to a five minute drive to work but since I’m house sitting this week, my commute has increased to 30 minutes. While I may not enjoy the fleeting tank of gas, I thoroughly enjoy those 60 minutes each day of nothing but me and the freeway and the mountains and conversations with God. Time to think and wonder and dream and say “ok, God, I’m not going to try to take the pen out of your hands, you can write a better story than I can.” That’s another thing I’m learning, or re-learning. Honestly, where as last week I couldn’t see past what I was missing, this week I can’t see past God’s incredible love. And all the little ways that he shows it.

Leave a Reply

