Skip to content

We have to make altars.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

More wise words from writer Donald Miller. Sorry to bring him up again, but I just spent my lunch break reading and some things – many things – resonated with me. If I don’t write something down, I’m afraid they will slip through the cracks.

Altars. God repeatedly told people in the Bible to stop and make altars. Not simply in honor of him, but in remembrance of his grace. Miller makes the connection to scenes in our life and how the memorable ones are the altars, the punctuation marks; the ones that involve ourselves making something happen. It’s what separates us from the blur of every day. These are the stories that we remember. “We have to write the poem and deliver it in person. We have to pull the car off the road and hike to the top of the hill…We have to make altars.”

On Sunday, I was in Vancouver amongst the crowds of celebrating Canadians after Canada won Olympic hockey gold. Though this was a scene in and of itself, one particular scene that stands out is from during the Robson Square light show. Apparently they did this every night, lots of lasers and explosions of flames and fireworks, all set to music. I wish I could remember the song but all of a sudden a slower one came on and we danced. Just me and my three friends, while people looked on and smiled. We spun around and laughed in the middle of the mayhem. (and no, I am not making a connection between an altar of worship and Canada’s hockey team…no no no :)

All this rambling to say, I want to “intentionally create a memorable life.” Whether I have my camera with me or not. Whether I have to drive for miles or wake before dawn or exhaust myself to reach some crazy mountain top or disregard culture when it tries to drive into us the notion of an easy life. Good stories don’t come from an easy life.

This guy knows how to create a memory…haha

Snuck this one from Sean :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Risa permalink
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 7:40 am

    I think YOU should write a book! And I know it would beautiful pictures in it too! : )

Leave a Reply

