Skip to content

Inspired By

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

I used to scour the Sears catalogue, the home interiors section, and spend hours cutting and pasting. This was back when I was…ten? Twelve years old? I would dream of the house I would one day own and decorate. What ever happened to this collection of couches, beds, kitchen tables and bath towels? Nothing of course, but it gave me great satisfaction at the time. I remembered this past activity of mine as I caught myself still doing this (I bet some of you do too), though it involves scouring design blogs rather than catalogues. And my tastes have somewhat changed! Not only does such an activity teach one about interior decor trends, but also gets my creative juices going for graphic design work at my day job, and for my photography.

Ooh there are many a pretty thing out there. So much inspiration is to be had in the patterns, colors and designs. It’s like eye candy. I wonder how I will ever decide, when that day arrives when I actually do own my own place. Chances are, I’ll live surrounded by white walls, my indecisive nature keeping me from deciding what goes where. Until then, I’ll keep dreaming and soaking in inspiration from images like these:

From the oh so lovely Anthropologie:

And the fab site, Design*Sponge:

I want that typewriter. And those pillows. And a collection of old mirrors atop a white brick mantle, please.

So fresh and fun.

A couple of these above photos looked vaguely familiar when I came across them…here’s why:

(These were taken in MY room)

I’ll end with what might be my favorite. Where modern meets vintage. I love everything about this.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, April 23, 2010 3:11 pm

    thanks for all the blog love, ladies :)

  2. kelsey loewen permalink
    Friday, April 23, 2010 12:11 pm

    how have I not commented on this yet?!
    these photos are oozing inspiration and beauty. I too, dream of one day owning a house that looks half as marvelous as those pictures.
    I love your red chair!

  3. Whitney permalink
    Wednesday, April 14, 2010 4:17 pm

    Oooh I do love this!! Especially the aqua vintage couch and the oh so cute white house and all the mirrors! When are we moving out?!

  4. Risa permalink
    Tuesday, April 13, 2010 10:33 pm

    I still have a binder, a “hope-book” that I made when I was your age. I covered the cover in wallpaper from my room, and several of the pages in that book have actually looked like some of the rooms in our homes over the years. I have since started a new binder, with new pictures and new dreams, but no matter how old you get, your tastes will change, and you will always dream. It will happen~ half the fun is knowing what you want and collecting the goods! Enjoyed your blog! Especially the orange stuff. ; )

  5. Kindrel permalink
    Tuesday, April 13, 2010 9:47 pm

    LOVE it Mikaela!
    Just a few minutes ago, I finished one of the many little folders I have that hold torn out pages from magazines. All the pictures of course, help sum up exactly what I love and one day hope to incorporate into the decor of my house!
    Inspiration is just so…inspiring!

Trackbacks

  1. Inspired By: Bridal Shoot « Mikaela Ruth Photography

Leave a Reply

