Skip to content

When one door closes…

Thursday, May 6, 2010

A door closed this past week, but the exciting thing is – others are opening. I was to be leaving for Thailand with a team from church in ten days. Due to the political unrest in Bangkok there was simply too much risk involved in going forth with the trip. When the team was informed there was definitely disappointment, but something else happened. I can’t speak for all, but there was a peace that came with this decision. After being in so much prayer for the trip, we can only explain it as God’s doing. He knows why, even though we don’t. And that’s enough. He chose the close that door, and now, other possibilities and passions for future trips are surfacing. There’s lots to sift through and pray over, but having the knowledge of God’s sovereignty in our hearts and minds, we move forward, excited. [For those who have generously given to this trip, your money will be put forth to another. I’ll keep you posted! And thank you! If you have any questions or concerns, please shoot me an email.]

Another wonderful, fantastic, exciting door that has opened for me: a Jasmine Star workshop! It was just another morning until I received her newsletter and the announcement I had been waiting for jumped off my computer screen. She only opens it up to 20 photographers, so I was all over it (the seats fill up in about an hour!) and before I realized, I had another email in my inbox from Jasmine. This one’s subject read ‘You’re In!!!’ Eek! I am so excited for the chance to learn from such an accomplished photographer and business woman. And connect with other amazing photographers! The workshop will take me to Orange County, California. My sister and I figured we should take advantage of the situation…so she’ll be coming and we’ll be hitting up the beach and such, making it a mini-vaca :)

Okay, I will leave off with a teaser. I had the opportunity to do some studio shooting last week and would like to introduce you to the ever lovely – and fellow Thailand team member :) – Adriana Raine. Full blog post to follow soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. kelsey loewen permalink
    Friday, May 7, 2010 8:16 am

    These are so fun!

Leave a Reply

