Skip to content

Studio Shoot: Adriana

Monday, May 10, 2010

Studio shooting. Photographer and friend Bryan Schmuland asked if I would be up for joining him at his friend’s studio one evening. I was enticed by the fact I had never had the opportunity to work in such a setting, and I was eager to shoot with great lighting right at your fingertips. That and the fact that our friend Adriana was going to model and well, how can you not want to photograph such a pretty face?

Hold on. Adriana is not just a pretty face. I’ve gotten to know her over the last few months, and she is one rad girl. Truly. She and I are both in the same Bible study, attend the same church, and were/are a part of the Thailand team. We have shared together, eaten together and prayed together. Adriana is insightful, passionate, endearing, plus she’s got some killer fashion sense and yes, takes pretty pictures. Aaaand is a Canon shooter as well :)

Back to the studio. I owe a big shout out to Chris, of Chris Elander Photography. He’s the one who not only opened up his studio to us, but worked with us and showed us how its done. It was great fun seeing everything come together and brought to life with the flash of a few strategically placed lights. A few lights and a set up that was slightly intimidating…but I loved the chance to try something different. Nevertheless, coming out of this, I know one thing is for sure. Shooting outdoors is more my style, more my thing. I find that I feed off my surroundings and get inspired by architecture, nature, the sunlight. That’s not to say studio shooting isn’t fabulous in its own right. But I’m happy that I was able to learn more about me as a photographer and my style as a photographer.

Now for the results…it was nearly impossible to narrow down the many to just these few:

Thanks, Bryan, for the photo :) And for inviting me out. Of course, more thanks also to Chris and the lovely Adriana!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, May 21, 2010 9:18 pm

    Great photos, and what a fun looking photoshoot!

  2. adriana Raine permalink
    Tuesday, May 18, 2010 12:43 am

    What an incredible job you’ve done Mikaela! I’m impressed, for sure.

  3. Alanna permalink
    Monday, May 10, 2010 11:00 am

    Great photos Mikaela!

Leave a Reply

