Skip to content

As they should be

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Not that any of this is brand new information, but…it’s just a little bit of what has been on my mind.

There are some people that come into your life just for a season. Think back and you know the ones. At the time you don’t expect it, but one day you realize you are here and they are there and things are as they should be. But still, I always ask why? What was the point? (I like to analyze things…sometimes maybe overanalyze…) I don’t think that people enter and exit out of our lives randomly. I believe God places certain relationships, certain people, in our way whether it’s to keep you company for a time, provide a distraction, or give you a different perspective…there are others I’m still trying to figure out. It’s like he orchestrates this coming and going and tearing down and building up. I believe he also places fixtures in our lives, relationships that are grounded. Their shape and context may evolve – grow, even! – but there are those that, no matter the distance, will always be connected. Sure, time and space can intervene, but when you can pick back up where you left off, I think that says something.

I had a reunion with a few of these friends recently. The girls that traveled to Uganda together last May FINALLY all hung out. You’d think that coordinating 5 schedules wouldn’t be thaaaat difficult…sigh. It was wonderful. These girls were each brought together on our team for a purpose and I’m pretty sure I can say I’ve learned something of value from each one of them. And well, you certainly learn a lot when you live in a dorm and travel together for 3 weeks :) That creates a bond that I’m happy to say is a fixture in my life.

And just because I love penguins and I went to the zoo this weekend, and because there are penguins that stick together for life:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kelsey loewen permalink
    Monday, May 31, 2010 9:41 am

    very well said. I can relate!

  2. Jayne permalink
    Sunday, May 30, 2010 9:50 pm

    I’ve been thinking similar thoughts lately! Thank-you for this.. it’s so true! You are four very special people in my life as well!

  3. Bonny permalink
    Sunday, May 30, 2010 9:16 pm

    Mikaela – this was beautifully written. I feel the same.
    Much love dear friend!

    • Maren permalink
      Sunday, May 30, 2010 9:25 pm

      Awww…I love penguins :) You make me smile Mik! Love you too! I hope our bond is forever too!

Leave a Reply

