Skip to content

101 in 1001

Sunday, August 8, 2010

This list has been formulating in my mind for quite some time now. 101 goals that have to be completed in 1001 days. One thing about me is that I’m great at making lists, I even make lists of things I need to make lists of. Crazy! And I’m always finding pieces of scrap paper – lists – floating around. But the 101 in 1001 lists keep popping up and I love the idea behind it so here’s mine. It’s not full of “you only live once” type of things (that’s for another list…), but it also includes business goals, things I’ve been procrastinating, and stuff thrown in for fun.

Disclaimer: this list is not complete. For one thing, I wanted to get it down before I started checking things off it! And another, a lot can happen in nearly 3 years and I want to be open to how God moves in my life and allow for new goals to be added.

Start date: Sunday, August 8, 2010
End date: Sunday, May 5, 2013

  1. Take dance classes – ballroom or salsa
  2. Travel back to Africa
  3. Start and finish a novel all in one month – completed November, 2010 (Stuff Christians Like by Jonathan Acuff)
  4. Make sushi
  5. Finally buy a shootsac
  6. Rent and ride bicycles around Stanley Park
  7. Watch the sun rise and the sun set in the same day – completed November 13, 2010
  8. Tour vineyards in the Okanagan
  9. Sort through/print photos of mine and frame them for my walls
  10. Aim to create branded and signature images during photo shootscompleted October 30, 2010 (and on going!)
  11. Watch all seasons of The Office, in order – in progress
  12. Go on a 3+ day road trip
  13. Learn how to surf (or at least attempt to)
  14. Hike Mt. Cheamdoes Diamond Head in Hawaii count?? ;)
  15. Organize my iTunes, deleting stuff I don’t listen to
  16. Grow my own herb garden
  17. Make salsa with my mom and aunt again
  18. Become a member at my church
  19. Connect with local wedding vendorscompleted October 30, 2010 (and on going!)
  20. Get involved with a local photog community
  21. Write a monthly letter to my sponsor child, Kambua, in Kenya
  22. Assuming I complete #2 and it takes me to Kenya – visit Kambua
  23. Photograph a destination wedding
  24. Launch a portfolio website that I am proud of and reflects my brand – in progress!
  25. Launch a new blog that is in line with my website – in progress!
  26. Photograph a session with Kelsey, my cousin in Manitoba who is also my graphic designer completed November 20, 2010
  27. Get lost for an entire day (with someone else), losing track of time and the map
  28. Stay up late enough/wake early enough to watch the Perseid meteor showercompleted August 12, 2010
  29. Revisit the Lynden Fair, like we did when we were kids
  30. Ride a rollercoaster
  31. Do something that scares me (could be #30 but I’ll save this for something else…)
  32. Cook a fully Italian meal, starting with pasta from scratch, and include a good bottle of Italian red wine of course
  33. Reach the point in my business where I can quit my day jobcompleted January 27, 2011
  34. Do something creative with my vintage books – wall art?
  35. Attend two more photography workshops that will push me to be a better photographer and business owner
  36. Create an inspiration board in order to better define my brand and my ideal client
  37. Cut my bangs
  38. Live in another country for 3+ months
  39. Purchase letterpress business cards
  40. Use photography to raise awareness and/or funds for a worthy cause
  41. Blog each item I check off my list
  42. Read the books that have been patiently waiting on my shelf:
  43. Emma, Jane Austen
  44. A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
  45. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith
  46. Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis
  47. Also read his books The Screwtape Letters and The Abolition of Man
  48. Purchase slide show software to showcase photo sessions online
  49. Purchase Kubota Photoshop actions
  50. Sleep under the stars
  51. Attend WPPI in Las Vegas
  52. Read 5 business books (0/5)
  53. Go on a day trip by myself
  54. Create a photo book of my trip to Europe
  55. Create a photo book of my trip to Uganda
  56. Go ziplining
  57. Rent a beach vacation house with friends and/or family
  58. Take a cooking class – completed November 26, 2010
  59. Visit Narissa in Chicago at least twice (0/2)
  60. Partake in a 10 km run completed September 18, 2010
  61. Go through my Great Food Fast cook book (another that has been waiting on my shelf) and blog about it (as inspired by the movie Julie and Julia)
  62. Write a book review on my blog
  63. Buy an iPhone
  64. Sleep for 8 hours straight – completed August 31, 2010
  65. Create better blog posts for my ideal clientcompleted October 30, 2010 (and on going!)
  66. Get a photo of mine published, in print – completed summer of 2010…to be blogged…
  67. Get a photo session of mine published, online – completed November 29, 2010
  68. Write down my bucket list
  69. Take an entire weekend off from work
  70. Travel Ireland, Scotland & England
  71. Bard on the Beach
  72. Visit the east coast of Canada
  73. Create a sample album of my work
  74. Purchase the 35mm 1.4 lens
  75. Shoot a boudoir session
  76. Travel to South America with Shane
  77. Cross-Canada photography trip
  78. Sleep in a tree fort

There you have it. Feel free to check back (and hold me accountable!) as I work my way through :) Any suggestions for things to add? Do you have a list? Leave a comment and/or link!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, September 18, 2010 8:42 pm

    Mikaela! You can almost cross of #66! The calendar is in print right now! Your beautiful picture is for June and will go to thousands of homes across Canada. It should be in our hands in about a week and a half. We’ll drive a few straight over to the church as soon as we have it in our hands!

  2. Alec permalink
    Monday, August 9, 2010 12:36 pm

    These are amazing. No doubt you will do all of them Mikaela!

  3. Monday, August 9, 2010 10:08 am

    Hmmm….I like #6! hehe

  4. Shane permalink
    Sunday, August 8, 2010 11:25 pm

    Photograph a celebrity or someone famous!!!

  5. camille permalink
    Sunday, August 8, 2010 8:07 pm

    you can take care of #23 in oz for me!

  6. kelsey loewen permalink
    Sunday, August 8, 2010 7:42 pm

    I really like #26, and #6. Perhaps we could join those together somehow? Maybe next summer? Crossing my fingers…

Trackbacks

  1. 101 Things in 1001 days | Christopher Johnston
  2. Styled Bridal Shoot » Mikaela Ruth Photography
  3. Say hello, wave goodbye « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  4. Chad + Kelsey: A snowy love shoot « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  5. FEATURED! Grey Likes Weddings. « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  6. Styled Bridal Shoot « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  7. 101 List: #7 Watch the sun rise and sun set in the same day « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  8. 101 List: #60 Partake in a 10km Run « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  9. Stanley Park Seawall Portraits « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  10. Out of Office « Mikaela Ruth Photography

Leave a Reply

