Skip to content

Gardner Park Family Portraits

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

I love what I get to do and this photo shoot reaffirmed that. The Cross/Rolleman/Swallow family is near and dear. If you’ve been here before, you may have met the Rollemans already…most recently, here.

Approaching this shoot, I knew that photographing a group of seven would pose a bigger challenge than, say, a couple. But between the eight of us, I’d say it all came together better than I could have planned. You can’t plan the raw emotions that transpire between loved ones, but I can do my best to capture them with my lens. You can’t plan whether or not a one year old will cooperate with the camera, or for that matter, whether or not the individuals being photographed will let you in and document them as they are.

But like I said, this shoot reaffirmed why I love what I do, because of all these things and more.

Derrick + Bethany, newly married this summer…

One of my all time favourite images.

Esther. This little girl brings an incredible amount of joy to this family…and to just about everyone who meets her :)

We got some photos just of Esther in honour of her first birthday! Can’t believe it was more than a year ago when I shot Nick + Brenda’s maternity photos – one of my very first shoots!

Until next time…much love and appreciation to a very special family…and prayers as the Rollemans head off on an adventure today :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kari Elaine permalink
    Monday, September 27, 2010 8:47 am

    these are really beautiful! I love the light in them- great exposure!

    and the baby is soooo cute!!

  2. Risa permalink
    Tuesday, September 14, 2010 10:36 pm

    PS…I agree with Tanis! :)

  3. Risa permalink
    Tuesday, September 14, 2010 10:35 pm

    This IS a very special family…so inspiring. You’ve done a beautiful job relaying their love for, and enjoyment of, each other. You ARE blessed to be a part of such tender moments and memory building times with such amazing people. This shoot gave me shivers, made me smile, and made me cry. And will be such a good reminder to keep them all in our prayers. We love you, Cross/Rolleman/ Swallow family.

  4. Tuesday, September 14, 2010 10:14 pm

    Mikaela, you really nailed it! Very artistically done. They are so lucky to have found you to document their family. Beautiful work, my dear!

  5. Tanis Patenaude permalink
    Tuesday, September 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    These are so amazing, Mikaela! Probably the best family photos I have ever seen! Well done!

  6. Andie permalink
    Tuesday, September 14, 2010 7:57 pm

    Nice photos Mikaela. I love what you did in the 3rd one. And that little girl is absolutely precious.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010: A Good Year « Mikaela Ruth Photography

Leave a Reply

