Skip to content

Styled Bridal Shoot

Friday, November 19, 2010

It’s been a goal of mine to connect with other local wedding vendors, and also gain further wedding photo experience. I first blogged about it here. Last month everything came together to reach and work toward these goals. And in the process, have a fabulous time doing so, working with A LOT of talent, found in some amazing women!

It started with an idea and one by one, the pieces that made our shoot successful materialized. First of all, I was SO thrilled to have  Colleen Sawatsky of Vintage Home come on board with her designer touches and eye for fabulousness. She was able to pull my ideas that were dancing around in my head and make them come to life.

A styled wedding shoot wouldn’t be complete without some sweet treats…Whitney Barkman, my sister and student at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, whipped up these pretty concoctions. On the menu? Macaroons with raspberry ganache, and chocolate cupcakes and chocolate layer cake with vanilla buttercream frosting. Whitney has also started making specialty cakes and desserts for parties and events so shoot her an email if you want to advantage ;) whitney_barkman@hotmail.com

Our bride and groom. Bethany and Derrick Swallow. I love them. Know why? Not only are they stunning and so in love you can feel it, they faced the morning’s bitter cold winds with grace and style. They were a dream to photograph…

I was also lucky enough to get to work with Kari of Confetti Floral. Ohhh does she ever put together the most stunningly unique flower arrangements! It was so fun planning with Kari and Colleen, but honestly, I pretty much just sat there and took in their back and forth on colours, flower names and designer terms that were foreign to me. But it all sounded really good and sure enough, what they provided was nothing short of eye candy delightfulness. Kari puts so much heart and passion into her work. I’ve already told her that she’ll be doing my flowers one day! You can also find her here on Facebook.
Ashley King of Wedded Bliss came out with her magic touch to add polished prettiness to our beautiful bride. Her on site services include a fabulous hair and makeup team. Check out her website for the details and more of her work, and find her on Facebook here.
More of Colleen’s wonderful pieces that you can rent for your special occasion…

Of course, a major task was to find the right location. Enter Magdalene of Saar Bank Farms. She and her husband rent their gorgeous barn for weddings and receptions and graciously gave us free reign of the place. It offered so much, and I could just imagine what an actual wedding would look like there…and so can many other brides. The barn is fully booked for 2011! But for inquiries beyond next year, email Magdalene at saarbank@gmail.com.

In perfect fashion, in the midst of the planning, I met the darling Carmen West of Carmen West Creative. She designs and creates chic, elegant headbands and hair pieces, and specially designed two for our shoot!
A few of my favorites…I could have spent all day shooting these two…but then this post might have become REALLY long…and they might have caught hypothermia…

….again, thank you. To everyone involved :) Looking forward to connecting with you again in the future!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Reese permalink
    Monday, July 4, 2011 7:49 pm

    I got married here in 2009! I love the photos that you have done here. You have captured the beauty of this place as I saw it for my wedding day! Rustic meets elegant. You are a fabulous photographer and your eye for details is amazing :) Great job!

  2. Tuesday, November 30, 2010 7:31 am

    Hi Mikaela! Wonderful job on these photos! The colors are my favorite part, you really mastered a compilation of the arts through this shoot.

    On a side note, I was wondering if you could tell me who designed the dress? When I saw it, my heart stopped…:-)

    • Wednesday, December 1, 2010 2:48 pm

      Thanks so much, Courtney! I just love the fall colours too! The girls did such a great job of bringing them into the shoot. I checked with the bride and here is the dress info (I know…I absolutely love it too!)

      It was made by a New York based designer, Romona Keveza. It is from her Spring ’09 bridal collection, and I bought it from Bella Sposa Bridal in New West. It is a discontinued dress, from what I know.

  3. Saturday, November 20, 2010 11:15 am

    beautiful mikaela! love al the details, and love white pumpkins!! nice work woman!

  4. Saturday, November 20, 2010 9:54 am

    These are fabulous! Those deserts make me hungry tho! =)

  5. Risa (Mom) permalink
    Saturday, November 20, 2010 8:31 am

    Beautiful job! I’m glad that THIS dream came true for you, and I’m sure there are many more to come! I’m proud of all the work you are doing, and happy that you are enjoying it. And that we get to enjoy it too!

  6. Maren permalink
    Friday, November 19, 2010 10:57 pm

    WOW WOW WOW….these are super fabulous! Gives me so many ideas and resources that I want to use for my sister’s reception now :)

  7. Friday, November 19, 2010 10:28 pm

    Way to go Mikaela !! This turned out SO amazing. You rock girlie :)

  8. Andie permalink
    Friday, November 19, 2010 8:26 pm

    Wow! Absolutely stunning. It came together so beautifully — nice work! Thanks for sharing all this loveliness…its making my eyes bounce all over the place from one gorgeous thing to the next. ;)

  9. Friday, November 19, 2010 8:17 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous! I love the location and all the little details.

  10. Emily permalink
    Friday, November 19, 2010 7:54 pm

    Mikaela, this is absolutely stunning. I love your pictures, I love your style. You obviously had a lot of talented people working with you…… BUT you have some SERIOUS TALENT girl! These are like pages out of a Martha Stewart magazine…. maybe even better. You captured B&D so beautifully. I especially love the shots of them in the barn.

  11. Friday, November 19, 2010 7:43 pm

    thanks all! :) lay over in Calgary paid off ;)

  12. kelsey loewen permalink
    Friday, November 19, 2010 7:20 pm

    Did you post this on the plane or what!? Crazy woman.
    Sure does look fantastic though! I love everything about all of these pictures. That barn would be killer for a wedding reception/ceremony. Sigh…if I could do it all over again I would in a heartbeat!
    Lovely photos!

  13. Friday, November 19, 2010 7:13 pm

    Wonderful, Mikaela! The ones in the barn are my favourites :)

  14. colleen permalink
    Friday, November 19, 2010 7:12 pm

    …BEAUTIFUL!…wonderfully done!…Thanks for all the time you have put into this Mikaela!

Trackbacks

  1. FEATURED! Grey Likes Weddings. » Mikaela Ruth Photography
  2. 2010: A Good Year « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  3. FEATURED! Grey Likes Weddings. « Mikaela Ruth Photography
  4. 101 in 1001 « Mikaela Ruth Photography

Leave a Reply

