Skip to content

Things I Love Thursday

Thursday, January 6, 2011

It’s somewhat shameful how long it’s been since I last wrote a Things post. We won’t talk specifics, but its been awhile. I won’t make up excuses, like how Christmas came and nearly knocked me off my feet, or how much time I’ve spent pouring over details for my upcoming website (perfectionist? maybe).

This post is about new years resolutions and lists. One thing I hate, one thing I love. New years resolutions may work for some, and may have the best intentions at heart, but the way I see it, they’re asking to be broken. How many of you go to a gym that sees a huge boom in January? It’s a challenge to find a decent parking spot and then someone takes your spot in your favorite class. And then come February/March…things…taper…off…

So. I’m not making any resolutions. I’m making a list. A fresh set of goals. That’s totally different, right? No matter how many lists I’ve got going, and no matter how many forms of lists I have (cell phone, stickies on my laptop, random scraps of paper) they make me feel organized and efficient. And this is a look of what I’ve got down for 2011:

1. more time with God – to include daily Bible reading and prayer.
2. write more often – this would most likely happen here, on my blog. There are so many things in my life right now that I want to remember.
3. read more – I miss getting caught up in a good novel…
4. stress less – anxiety won’t get me anywhere but crazy. I’ve got to trust more in God; he brought me to where I am today, and I’m pretty sure he won’t up and leave me hanging. Actually, I know for sure.

Happy Thursday, happy January, happy Twenty-eleven! :) What are your goals for the new year?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 6, 2011 8:39 pm

    i LOVE your #1.

    1. teach the kids how to change the toilet paper roll. i joke a lot, but i’m serious about this!
    2. work on my handyman skills so justin won’t think i’m “such a girl” when things break while he’s training/deployed.
    3. learn to sew. i think my sewing mother is ashamed of me ’cause that talent passed right by me.
    4. take a very long drive to washington. :)
    5. learn how to save $$. that would be so awesome.
    6. think of a 6th goal… :)

Leave a Reply

