Skip to content

Not just a pretty picture

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

A smooth, lavender latte, Belgian waffles with mixed berries and a stimulating conversation with a lovely, new photographer friend have left me with a heart stirring and mind running with thoughts and ideas. Ways in which to grow as a creative. There was talk of dreams and what makes a photograph art, talk of the importance of a connection with a photo. To not just take a picture for the sake of a pretty picture. It has to be more personal than that. I so love being able to connect with others in this industry…those who are like-minded but have their own way of seeing things. Getting into conversations can lead to all sorts of things and places. And as I walked down the city street back to my car, and the faintest of snowflakes fell from the silver sky, I felt a sense of new motivation, refreshed.

A sneak peek of another post to come…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 13, 2011 5:18 pm

    many thanks everyone! I’ll think about that book… ;)

  2. Andie permalink
    Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:49 am

    Ooo looking forward to this upcoming post.
    You are so good at articulating your words — you should write a book ;)

  3. kelsey loewen permalink
    Wednesday, January 12, 2011 9:17 am

    There’s a lot of truth in what you said! And that photo is gorgeous, and speaks wonders..

  4. colleen permalink
    Wednesday, January 12, 2011 8:22 am

    …pretty sure I know the girl in the photo…is this a styled shot or is this ….friendship!…either way the light is stunning!

  5. Risa (Mom) permalink
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011 11:00 pm

    This gave me goosebumps, and it’s not because of the snow…I hope you never get too busy taking pictures that you have no time to write. Your words are (almost) as beautiful as your photos. Ok, they are as beautiful. Thanks again for sharing. :)
    And I’m looking forward to that upcoming post, too.

  6. Alanna permalink
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011 10:27 pm

    Love this post :)

  7. megan permalink
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011 9:56 pm

    Hey Mikaela – love what you have to say in this post – such truth! And if that is your lovely sister in the photo you posted, I can’t wait to see more – totally love your photos!

  8. Tuesday, January 11, 2011 9:17 pm

    Did you go to Cafe Medina?! If you did, please invite me next time, I luve it there! Keep running with those thoughts, you’ll go places with them. =D

    • Tuesday, January 11, 2011 9:22 pm

      We did! And if you were going to be in the country a little longer, I would! Hopefully one day :)

      • Wednesday, January 12, 2011 11:49 am

        Hehehe, I think I would make a trip back for their lattes and raspberry waffles! I used to live just down the street from them and would go as often as my budget could afford. ;)

Leave a Reply

